in Faculty

UDLAP Faculty Participates in the National Journalism Research Network Worlds of Journalism Study III in Mexico

Three Universidad de las Américas Puebla academics and researchers participate in the National Journalism Research Network Worlds of Journalism Study III in Mexico.


Dr. Judith Cruz Sandoval, academic director of the Communication Sciences Department, Dr. Julieta Brambila, faculty member of the Department of Communication Sciences, and Dr. Hilda Fernández de Ortega Bárcenas, faculty member of the Psychology Department, are some of the researchers from 11 Mexican and American academic institutions that made up the National Journalism Research Network to carry out the Worlds of Journalism III – Mexico (2020-2022), a project that will generate, with a rigorous methodology, data of the reality of journalism in the country to compare it at a global scale.


The previous phase of this project (2012-2015) managed to gather information on 66 countries with over 22,000 interviews worldwide, including Mexico. Its main objective is to help researchers, journalists, ONGs, and politicians to better understand world visions and the changes happening in professional journalism, including the conditions and limitations under which they work as well as journalism social functions in a changing world. In the third phase the topics will be journalists´ security and resilience.


It is important to mention that the researchers who make up this National Network assume the commitment to apply the corresponding surveys in each region, as well as to integrate and systemize them in the database for this process.

Their work began on March 28 and 29 in the Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE), where they agreed on operations, methodologies, and sample sizes.

Other network members include Dr. Sallie Hughes, from Instituto para los Estudios Avanzados sobre las Américas (UMIA) and the Department of Journalism and Media Management at Miami University; Dr. Sergio Rodríguez-Blanco, from the Communications Department at Universidad Iberoamericana; Dr. Grisel Salazar Rebolledo from the Journalism Program at CIDE; Eva Alejandra Ávila Beltrán from Universidad Autónoma de Baja California; Dr. Celia del Palacio Montiel from the Center of Culture and Communication Studies at Universidad Veracruzana; Dr. Martín Echeverría Victoria and Dr. Rubén Arnoldo González Macías from the Institute of Government and Strategic Development at Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla; Dr. Armando Gutiérrez Ortega, of the Universidad Autónoma de Baja California, Binational Association of Communication Schools; Dr. José Carlos Lozano from Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey / Texas A&M International University; Dr. Jessica Retis, from California-Northridge State University, Binational Association of Communication Schools; and Dr. Frida V. Rodelo from the Department of Social Communications at Universidad de Guadalajara.